The Illumination of Laughter

And so it was…

…that on the Wednesday they did arrive at The Blue Gates Of The House Of The Estrangeiros.  And they did proclaim themselves The Bringers of the Good News.

And I did say: “Cool!  Whassat then?!”

And they did reply: “That the world isn’t as bad as it seems”.

And I did struggle for a moment having just awoken from my siesta and not yet had my coffee and was keen to crack on with the decorating and I did realise that it was the Jehova’s Witnesses.

And the Squirming Serpent of Discomfort did writhe within my belly.

And I did reply: “Why, let it not be said that the world is bad because I think it’s pretty flipping ace, actually”.

And so it was that we spoke on the matter for some time in foreign tongues until we decided on English for my sake as I had not yet properly woken up and was having a bit of trouble with Portuguese.

And we did speak of God and The Buddha and Allah and Universal Energy (or Whatever you conceive HIM to be).

And we did speak of The Miracle of Life and The Multiplicity of All Things and Order within Chaos.

And we did speak of Love and Beauty and Simplicity and Illumination and that the mere moment of laughter when one ‘sees’ a joke is illumination in itself and we did agree that The World Was Good…

And we did speak of Creation and Adaptation and Darwin and Quantum Physics and we did agree that The World Was Good.

And it was then (on the Wednesday) at The Blue Gates Of The House Of The Estrangeiros that the Orange Telephone Network Salesman did arrive.  And he did cometh unto me and he did ask me what wireless network I was with.  And he did strongly recommend that I change to one of the various options that Orange has to offer.  And I did protest.  And he did push it and keep going on.  And The Squirming Serpent of Discomfort did writhe thrice more within my belly.

And so it was that some half an hour later I was still pinned up against The Blue Gates Of The House Of The Estrangeiros on the wrong side praying that ‘HE (Or Whatever you conceive HIM to be)’ might grant ME the freedom from both The Orange Telephone Network Salesman and The Bringers Of The Good News, that I might get my coffee and crack on with the decorating.

And it was then, just as The Orange Telephone Network Salesman was about to leave that the Miracle of Life rose up inside me and in a flash of light illuminated the true nature of my own self-limitations as entirely separate from my innate inner freedom and I did see The Light and I did embrace it.

And so I did rub my hands together and I did point out to The Orange Telephone Network Salesman that he had not yet enquired as to the wireless network of The Bringers Of The Good News.  And the Squirming Serpent of Discomfort did writhe within his belly.

And so it was.  And he did strongly recommend that they change to one of the various options that Orange has to offer.  And they did protest.  And he did push it and keep going on. And the Squirming Serpent of Discomfort did writhe within the bellies of The Bringers Of The Good News.

And I saw my own creation and it was good.

And The Light came down on me and The Feathery Tickle Of Laughter began to flood my belly, washing away the Squirming Serpent of Discomfort and it did bubble up from my core and I did begin to chuckle.

And The Bringers Of The Good News did stop and they did look at me and The Light came down on them too and The Feathery Tickle of Laughter began to flood their bellies washing away the Squirming Serpent of Discomfort and it did bubble up from their cores and they too did begin to chuckle.

And I did look at The Orange Telephone Network Salesman and I did laugh my socks off.  And then The Light came down on him. And we did all look at each other and we did all laugh together as it bubbled from our bellies.

And The Lord or Buddha or Me (or Whatever) had granted me my freedom and we all bade each other farewell and blessings right there outside The Blue Gates Of The House Of The Estrangeiros on the Wednesday.  And we all did agree that The World was Good and I went back in and had my coffee and cracked on with the decorating.

This entry was posted in Culture, Emigrating, Life, Portugal, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.